Don’t quit. God is rooting for you.

The last couple of weeks, I had to battle one of the worst bouts of pain I have ever experienced. And I am not exaggerating. It was a pain that was physical, and continuous, lasting about 10 days. On a threshold of 1 to 10, it felt like a 15! 

During this time, I cried, I screamed, I kneeled, I shook my hands in the air profusely. I spent my nights walking on my bed rather than sleeping. And when I did sleep, it was for about 15 mins before a bout of pain would hit me again. I had to miss days of work, church and living. 

I kept thinking to myself, God how much longer, maybe it’s best if I just gave up. What I was fighting for….was it worth it??

I was grateful to have a few friends who were there to comfort me and pray for me. But I am the type of person, that nothing really kicks in until I hear it for myself. And at the back of my head, I heard “Don’t quit!”

I swear, if any human being had said that to me, I would have punched them in the face! Because I felt like they weren’t understanding how great the pain was. But that voice came from within me. And so there was no one to punch if I didn’t like it. I had to believe it.

I remember a song that my mom taught me when I was in my teens…

He didn’t bring you this far to leave you
He didn’t teach you to swim so you could drown
He didn’t put His home in you to move away
He didn’t pick you up, to let you down. No No. 
He didn’t pick you up to let you down. 

(Apparently it’s an actual song. I thought my mom made it up. Here’s the original. 

Mom’s version was better though. 

 

As I rehearsed this song over and over in my head (with the pain still very present and tears running down my face constantly), I saw a picture of a pregnant woman in the delivery room with a glowing man standing next to her. The result was obvious- a baby. But the present circumstance was that she was in the worse pain she ever imagined. Still in the midst of the pain, this Glowing man was there holding her hand, saying “I’m here for you Babe! You can do it! You can get through this!” 

I envisioned that same Glowing man was there rooting for me as I was feeling this pain.

And yes, I did pray for supernatural healing. And perhaps it did happen already in the spirit realm. But now He was present in the natural realm fighting the pain with me until my healing was fully manifested naturally. 

We are all going to go through painful events one time or the other. And sometimes we even pray “God make the pain go away!”. It’s not that He doesn’t answer. But we should know that He is such a present help in the time of need, that He leaves His throne to come right by our side holding our hands and encouraging us not to quit.

Even in the midst of pain… God is there rooting for you until the pain goes away and until you have complete victory. Don’t quit. 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Amen!!

    -Elektra

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)