A friend that sticks closer

For this blog, I want to share about two things… loving others… and being grateful for those who love you.

Over the weekend, I had the privilege of spending time with a friend who visited from out of town. We don’t often get to see each other due to distance and we don’t even get to talk much on the phone or chat through messengers… Life seems to get the better of us both in one way or another. But every few months, my friend journeys for 4.5 hours to visit with me and my son and our close friends.

We will call him ‘T’. T has been in my life for a long time. He’s been there through all of the times I’ve moved to different apartments. He’s been there when my car broke down and I needed a ride. He’s been there through almost all of my ups and downs during the last 5 or 6 years.

This last trip, as he has done almost every other time he has come to visit, he takes over my kitchen and essentially cooks up ‘a storm’. As he spent all day in the kitchen on Saturday..making some time consuming savory dishes, I couldn’t help but to recall all of the times, he did that. He is the type of friend that would come to your house, bring  or buy a wad of groceries and just make a whole lot of food for you. And he has done this every time that he has visited my house…wherever I am living. He’s the type of friend who doesn’t seem to mind if you have a bed or a carpet, as long as he has a place to crash. And he’s the type of friend who selflessly gives of his time without fret or complaint. Although a short visit, he was able to make dinner for a vegetarian, a couple of picky eaters and me. And made enough leftovers for about 2 weeks.

Why am I going on about this? T was my guest. In all fairness, he drove 4.5 hours to see us. I should have been the one to cook and serve. Instead he took the opportunity to serve us.

As a single mom who has very little time to prepare fancy meals, I can’t tell you how much I appreciated the fact that T took it upon himself to make us food. But there is also something to be said for the fact that he was willing to take the time to drive all the way from his city to spend time with me and his other friends.

In my estimation, this is what real friendship looks like. And I am truly grateful to have him in my life.

I wanted to share about this, because I think it’s important to be grateful for the people that God has placed in your life. Sometimes we can get so carried away about what our friends are not doing in our lives that we forget to think about what they are doing. If we have friends who care enough to be present in our lives. Who take the time to be there for us…, who use their gifts and talents and try to make the day a little brighter, a little less stressful… we should thank God for these people. And we should also let them know that we appreciate them.

On the other hand, I think many of us could take a page out of T’s book. We could try a little harder to go the extra mile… and take a trip now and again to see friends who are not very close by. We could put aside some of our ‘busy-ness’ (which is essentially used spending time on social media) and just make time for the people that God has placed in our lives. Can you cook? There’s a friend somewhere in your life that doesn’t like or have time to cook. Perhaps you can make him/her something. Can you do laundry or do you like cleaning? There’s a friend somewhere in your life who hates folding clothes or who hasn’t been able to clean in a long time. Perhaps you can drop by for a few hours and help out. We shouldn’t always expect or want for others to treat us well, when we don’t even make the effort of treating others well. Distance should never stop us from exercising the love of God. The word of God tells us that ‘there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother’ (Prov 18:24).

I don’t know about you, but I welcome such friends in my life and I aim to be that friend to those who are in my life.

Always remember that despite where you are, or how much you have or what’s going on in your own personal life, you can always be a good friend to those whom God has placed in your life.

 

 

 

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

