Let’s talk about relationships…

In the last few weeks, I’ve felt a tug in my spirit to talk about something that I don’t even know if I am qualified to talk about. But I feel I should talk about it. That subject is  ‘relationships’.

Now before I begin talking about this subject…  I want to say a few things…Disclaimers really:

  1. I am not married. I want to be some day… I think. But not unless God connects me to someone who is worthy of me. Yes… I said that.
  2. I am a single mom. That pretty much reiterates the first point. But I say that because I need to admit that I’ve made some tragic mistakes in the dating world. And there are times I feel as though I should be the last person to talk to people about relationships or love or marriage. But I feel I have something to say.
  3. I don’t and won’t pretend to be an expert on this subject. I am not. But in the last few years, all of the ‘tragedies’ I’ve experienced have led me into the haven of God’s arms only to ask the question, “Daddy, what was I suppose to learn from that experience?”. I won’t lie. There have been a lot of negative experiences. Painful experiences. Experiences that have forced me to seek counsel both in the world and in the church. Experiences that have made me want to give up on life and question why I was still on this earth. But this is exactly why I feel I need to talk about this. I have gone through some of the worst experiences I think any woman could go through, and by the grace of God, I am still here.
  4. I don’t want anyone reading my blog to take what I say as gospel. It’s not. But as I’ve sought God time after time, I’ve asked God to give me wisdom about relationships. I’m not perfect. But I do believe that my wisdom is increasing.

For tonight/today, I want to start simple.

Oh. Wait. There’s one more thing. I can’t promise that I will write to you every day. I can say that as the Holy Spirit leads, I will jot down points and then as I find time (i told you about my single mom deal, work, charity, business venture, etc…), I will sit down to write… probably at the 11th hour of the night. So if you find what I have to say interesting, I’d encourage you to subscribe so that you can get the notifications about posts in your email inbox.

So for tonight, I want to start by asking a simple question. On a scale of 1 to 10, how would you rate your satisfaction with your current relationship? And if you are not in a relationship, judge your past relationship. How would you rate your satisfaction with your past relationship/s.

I want you to be honest. Not with me. But with yourself. Don’t put this off. But rather, take a moment on your way home, or as you go through the grocery store… and ask yourself this question.

Then ask yourself, why did you rate the relationship the way you did.

If you rated it 9 or 10…. congrats. You don’t need this blog.

But if you rated it as anything less… I suspect it’s because you feel that there is a void. You feel it could be better… because something is missing. You can’t put your hand on it. But you just feel something could be better. Once you’ve rated your relationship and figured out why you rated it the way you did…hold that thought.

I’ll be back soon with a few tidbits.

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

