Awesomeness of God

So… I am sorry that I have been off the radar for a few weeks there. The truth is… well. Let’s pick up from where I left off and you’ll understand.

In my last (very long) blog, I confessed that I had come to a place where I was doubting if God would ever meet my needs. I wrote about being unemployed for the longest amount of time I’ve ever been and how I was learning to trust God at a whole new level. That new level entailed allowing my will and wants to be submerged into His will  for my life. It entailed letting go of my pride and my plans, and allowing Him to order my footsteps into the way that He wants them to go.

One of the reasons, I write, is because it allows me to think through what’s in my head and at the same time, accept what the Holy Spirit is commanding me to do or what He’s doing in my life. And so, at the point of writing my last blog, I had to fully come to terms with the fact that where I wanted to be at this phase in my life might not be where God wants me to be. So having prayed, and submitting myself and my will to God, I stopped looking for a job, comparing myself to others and trying to do things my way.

Well… It wasn’t even a week later, that I received notice of a job by email. The job description didn’t seem to be complicated. It fact, it seemed like a basic administrative role. What was appealing to me however, was that it was at the organization at which my son receives different care services. I thought to apply but thought that it would be better if I could forward my resume directly to the HR manager explaining that my son was in their program. I expressed my interest to one of my son’s teachers (who happened to be a close friend of the HR manager) and she said she would make a connection. The HR manager conveyed to her that she had already received over 100 resumes for the position and that it was better that I submit my resume directly to her.

Long story short, a week after I wrote the last blog, I applied for a job, was called for an interview two days after and was offered a job two days after that.

Clearly, the awesomeness of God is all over this testimony. But there are a few things that I just wanted to point out.

  1. I studied Medicine in another country. After 3 years of Med school, I came to Canada and while it was my intention to continue, it was impossible. I felt like I had wasted three years of my life. Fast forward 10 years later, I am able to use that knowledge in the job that I’ve accepted.
  2. My son should not have even been at this particular organization. His paediatrician had referred him to another, but because that organization was unclear about what his condition was, we referred to the one I currently work for because they deal with more challenging cases.
  3. My son was not suppose to be admitted to the organization’s preschool program until he was 18 months. However, because of the favour of God, they created a pilot program and he was admitted at 14 months instead. Had he been admitted at 18 months, we would never have met the pre-school teacher that was friends with the HR manager who accepted my resume.
  4. We attended an event that was held at the organization for the community a few weeks before. My son had won a whole lot of prizes  and I was unable to take all of them back to the car along with him. One of the loving volunteers offered to watch him and the toys while I went to get the car. I did not know then that she was the Director of Services at the organization or that she would have been the one to interview me.

 

I said all of that to say this:

I don’t know if you can see the trajectory of God’s awesomeness in my life. Or if you can even see how He has been ordering my steps. But the truth is that God is awesome whether or not we know it.God is always working on your behalf. He is always ordering your steps. Even when things don’t seem like they are working out for you, God is there.

With everything that I have gone through in the last three years, it has been hard to see that. But even in trying times, even when seemingly bad things seem to be happening, God uses those things and puts them to work, for our good. What He wants though… no… what He requires is that we stop trying to do things according to our way and will. That we become immersed in what He wants for us. And then He wants us to willingly accept the steps that He has ordered us to walk in.

Now I don’t know if this is the position that I will be in for the rest of my life, but I do know that I have a whole new level of faith that God is able to meet my needs. I know now beyond a shadow of a doubt, that even if things do not work out, that God has something else planned. That it’s not because of anything I’ve done or didn’t do, but that God is just up to something better.

I wish we could apply this kind of attitude to every aspect of our lives.

I have to go to sleep now. I have to go to work tomorrow 🙂

 

Blessings.

2 thoughts on “Awesomeness of God

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It’s very encouraging and reminded me to keep trusting in the Lord for He will always complete the good work He has started. God bless you. I pray that you will allow yourself to be lead by the Holy Spirit as the Lord has placed you there (your new job) for a purpose. Be a blessing as you have been handpicked.

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

