Be grateful

I’m still here!

Spent the last few days in the hospital with my son running diagnostics and trying to understand some things. While I was there, I had the opportunity to sit next to a few people and their children. Many of whom were complaining about things. I’d like to say these things were ‘First World problems’ 🙂 Stuff such as ‘why are they taking so long, I have a hair appointment!’. One woman exclaimed to another who appeared to be her sister, ‘He never does the dishes! It bothers me!’…. Yeah First World problems.

But one of the things that really stood out to me was this woman scolding her son (probably) 2 year old son because he kept running around the sitting area in circles. She was not impressed and appeared to be very impatient. Now I’m all for discipline. But I couldn’t help but think about my own child and his issues. Every time he reaches a milestone, I am so excited that I take photos and videos, I message my best friends to let them know. Even after 15 months, he still isn’t walking on his own. But as he cruises around the house and as he uses his little choo-choo walker toy, I’m amazed and I am grateful because 15 months ago, even 7 months ago, the reports about his health were not promising. Every single day I am grateful that he is alive and getting stronger.

Flash forward to my mom, who has diabetes and suffered a stroke at 48, and can hardly walk until this day, I have to be grateful for the fact that I can walk and run and dance in circles if I want to. You see, on one hand, my little Man, is fighting to prove to everyone and himself that he can walk and so each day we take baby steps together. My mom, 58+ years old, has lost her motor function, and to be honest, she walks at the same level of my son.

When I thought of that this morning, I began to just make up songs of gratitude because even though there are things around me that aren’t ok, I am grateful for the little things that I am able to do.

Walking, sitting, standing, jumping in the car, putting on makeup, tapping buttons on our smartphones….

Let’s move on to some unrelated things, like thanking God for the things that we do have. Like friends and family who care, food in our house, the benefits of living in Canada…

You see for every complaint you can possibly make, there is also something that you can be grateful for.

My encouragement to you today is therefore, to really just think on the things that you do have instead of what you don’t, and think of the things that you can do instead of what you can’t. And be grateful for those things. Don’t let the devil influence you to focus on the negatives. Every time you feel you will open up your mouth to complain about something, just say “thank you Lord”. Trust me, something will come to you that you can be grateful for. And giving thanks to God really shifts the atmosphere and allows him to work in our lives.

 

Be blessed and have a great grateful weekend.

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

