Tis really sweet to trust in Jesus

Last night while doing dishes, I found myself humming an old hymn that I learned way back in the 9os.

  1. ’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
    Just to take Him at His Word;
    Just to rest upon His promise,
    And to know, “Thus saith the Lord!”

    • Refrain:
      Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
      How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er;
      Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
      Oh, for grace to trust Him more!
  2. Oh, how sweet to trust in Jesus,
    Just to trust His cleansing blood;
    And in simple faith to plunge me
    ’Neath the healing, cleansing flood!
  3. Yes, ’tis sweet to trust in Jesus,
    Just from sin and self to cease;
    Just from Jesus simply taking
    Life and rest, and joy and peace.
  4. I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
    Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
    And I know that Thou art with me,
    Wilt be with me to the end.

Louisa M. R. Stead, 1882

As complicated as life is, we sometimes forget how simple faith in God is. 

All that God requires is that we look to Him for our every need.

Sometimes I look at the amount of things that are going on in my life and it can get very overwhelming. Like yesterday, someone bumped my car which was parked outside my house and left a huge ding in the side! No note, no nothing. It was one of those things that I just don’t need to happen right now. And thinking about it can be so overwhelming.

It was for that reason that I began to sing that song last night. There’s nothing I can do to address the damage. I will never be able to track that person down to fix the dent. I don’t know who it is. I also can’t afford to pay for it now. But what I can do is trust God.

Are there times in your life when you feel that there’s nothing you can do to fix a situation? That’s when you need to trust in Jesus. You need to rest upon His promises and just take from Him, a sense of joy and peace.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tis really sweet to trust in Jesus

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

