Let it Go.

Let it go.

A few weeks ago. I had a Winners/Marshalls moment.

If you are familiar with these two stores you probably know what I’m talking about. It’s that moment when you see something that you really like in the store and you opt to go home and think about it instead of getting it right away.

Well, I had one of those moments.

There it was. This beautiful picture frame written with the words ‘let it go’. I so wanted to get it but it was not budgeted for  So I needed to go home and think about which budget I would pull the funds from.

After a couple days, I went back to get this piece I so badly wanted, but it was gone!! Gone!!!

<insert disappointed look here>

Despite the fact that I didn’t get my piece of art, the words ‘Let it Go’ are what I confess everyday and I want to encourage you to do the same.

Many times, we hold on to things that people have said or not said, done or not done to us. It’s so sad. We could hold on to these things for days, weeks or years. Sometimes the things that we are holding on to are so little and frivolous that the person who supposedly offended us are not even aware that they offended us. And they are going about their lives while we are DAILY stewing and spewing  about what they did or didn’t do.

Get this and get it fast: holding on to things or wrongs that other people have done to you hurt YOU more than it hurts them. LET IT GO.

Case in point, I recently discovered that a friend of mine stopped talking to me. My life these days doesn’t really allow for me to make contact with people a lot, so it didn’t really dawn on me for a while that we had not spoken for probably 3 months. So I messaged her to check in. When I did, she didn’t respond. With technology the way it was, I knew she had ‘seen’ my message. I gave her a few days and then I messaged again. Soon after she deleted/blocked me from contacting her. I began to wonder what I could have done to offend her. But what bothered me even more was that for about 3 months she was upset with me and I didn’t even know. I was going about my own business for 3 months  and she was upset…for 3 months. In famous text language —‘smh’.

She probably thought she was hurting me but in fact, she was hurting herself.

Can you relate? Can you think of a situation where you held on to something that someone did? Listen, you need to either talk to that person if you value that friendship or relationship or let it go! Drop it. Put it down somewhere and forget about it.

Every morning, I say and pray this: I choose to let go of any hurt or upset caused by anyone the day before.

I encourage you to do the same. Let that venom go. Don’t know what you are upset about or if you are upset? It’s that very thing you keep thinking about whenever you connect with that particular person.

Do yourself a favour. Don’t hold on to things. Let it go.

“Forgetting those things which are behind, I press forward towards the mark of the high calling”. Phil3:13

3 thoughts on “Let it Go.

  1. I have read your last 2 posts, and I am glad to see you back at writing! I can relate in my own ways, and your words are always encouraging. Keep the ink flowing, girl. I have been writing a lot, but have not posted anything online yet. I don’t know if I am going to yet or not. But either way, it is relieving to get your emotions and personal experiences out to share with others who may be enduring similar circumstances. (PS. who is the friend that up and stopped talking to you and blocked/unfriended you?… that is very rude and hurtful. But glad you are not letting it get to you.)

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

