God’s got better

Last night as I was lying in bed worshiping, I was thinking about how much God loves me (that’s not to say that He doesn’t love you :P).

There were many times that I felt that God was being unfair to me… Like when I lost the first love of my life… I felt this sharp pricking pain that never seemed to go away. When I lost my last job, there was a similar feeling. Not a pricking pain. But more like… ‘this is so unfair given my responsibilities’ – pain. There were many memories that came to mind last night.

As I reminisced on these times, and thought about where I am now (and no, it’s not all a bed of roses), I heard in my Spirit “I’ve got better”.

Have you ever been in a situation that didn’t go as planned? Took a job and then got laid off? Stepped into a relationship that ended unexpectedly and left you devastated? Perhaps you were pregnant, and just found out that you lost the baby. Or perhaps you are going through a divorce now and you feel like a failure (these are just some situations that the Holy Spirit has placed on my heart at this time).

I will never get why these things happen to seemingly good people. But I want to encourage someone with what I was encouraged with last night:

God’s got better.

When you’re ‘going through…it never seems like he does. But the truth is He does.
When David was made King, he lost a son. I’m sure he was excited to have that son, but God took him away. Can you imagine how painful that must have been? But David must have known that God had better and so he washed himself, got something to eat and then ‘comforted’ his wife. Shortly after, she conceived a child. She conceived Solomon. (Full story is in 2 Samuel 12:1-29)

David lost. But David also gained…’better’.

What am I saying… even when you’ve lost something that is dear to you… God is in control. He is blocking harm from getting to you. He’s protecting you. He’s cutting things out that would lead you into destruction. Whatever you have lost, was lost for a reason. It’s because God had something better.

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. Jer 29:11

 

 

Thanks for saying something encouraging :)

